Home Blog Photos Reviews Interviews Team Submit

Alt Rock Blog

10 Musical Side Projects You Need To Hear

Side Projects

Sometimes, being in just one popular band isn’t enough. Rather than be pigeon-holed into creating one specific style of music, these artists decided to branch out and explore other creative styles through side projects, solo projects, and supergroups. Although some of them might sound similar to the artists’ main bands, there are quite a few side projects that seem to do a complete 180·. Check out these ten musical side projects and leave a comment below to tell us what your favorite side project is.

1. Crosses †††

Members: Chino Moreno (Deftones), Shaun Lopez (Far), Chuck Doom

About: Deftones lead singer Chris Moreno has been involved in a number of side projects, including Team Sleep and Palms. In 2011 Moreno formed Crosses, an electronic rock / dream pop band with Shaun Lopez (guitarist of Far) and producer Chuck Doom. Their synth-heavy full length debut album was released in 2014 via Sumerian Records.


2. The Last Shadow Puppets

Members: Alex Turner (Arctic Monkeys), Miles Kane (Rascals), James Ford (Simian)

About: Almost immediately after Arctic Monkeys’ chart topping release of their first album, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not, lead singer Alex Turner decided to pursue another musical outlet. In 2007, Turner announced that he would be teaming up with Miles Kane and James Ford. Their first album, The Age of the Understatement, included influences such as The Beatles and late 60s lounge pop.


3. Blackpool Lights

Members: Jim Suptic (The Get Up Kids), Billy Brimblecom (Creature Comforts)

About: This indie rock band formed just as The Get Up Kids finished recording the album, Guilt Show. After the release of this album, The Get Up Kids decided to take a break, giving Suptic the perfect opportunity to dive head first into Blackpool Lights. Originally made up of songs that Suptic had previously written but didn’t feel fit the style of The Get Up Kids, Blackpool Lights went on to release two EPs and a full length studio album titled This Town’s Disaster.


4. The Dead Rabbitts

Members: Craig Mabbitt (Escape The Fate, Blessthefall, The Word Alive), TJ Bell (Escape The Fate, Motionless In White), Alex Torres (Eyes Set To Kill, Greeley Estates, Alesana), Rob Pierce

About: Escape The Fate’s lead singer, Craig Mabbitt has been involved in quite a few bands over the years, including Blessthefall and The Word Alive. Formed in 2011, The Dead Rabbitts are an American metalcore band signed to Tragic Hero Records. Their first EP, Edge of Reality, released in 2012 was recently followed with their first studio album, Shapeshifter.


5. Monsters of Folk

Members: Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes), Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes), M. Ward (She & Him), Will Johnson (Centro-matic)

About: A supergroup made up of some of the biggest names in the folk music scene, Monsters of Folk first formed in 2004 when the musicians were on tour together with their respective bands. Their self titled first full length album was released in 2009. Although M. Ward has stated that there is still more to come from Monsters of Folk, the members continue to keep themselves busy with their primary bands for the time being.


6. The Damned Things

Members: Keith Buckley (Every Time I Die), Scott Ian (Anthrax, Stormtroopers of Death), Joe Trohman (Fall Out Boy, With Knives), Rob Caggiano (Volbeat, Anthrax), Andy Hurley (Fall Out Boy, Enabler), Josh Newton (Every Time I Die)

About: This heavy metal supergroup sprang to life in 2008 when Joe Trohman and Scott Ian started writing music together. Their first album, Ironclast (2010), combines a classic rock sound with the heavier influences of Anthrax and Every Time I Die and the catchy choruses of Fall Out Boy.


7. A Perfect Circle

Members: Billy Howerdel (Ashes Divide), Maynard Keenan (Tool), James Iha (The Smashing Pumpkins), Matt Mclunkins (Ashes Divide, 30 Seconds To Mars), Jeff Friedl (Ashes Divide)

About: Originally formed by guitarist Billy Howerdel and singer Maynard Keenan in 1999, A Perfect Circle has released three albums including Mer de Noms, Thirteenth Step, and Emotive. Although Howerdel has commented that they have been working on new material, nothing has been said about future releases at this time.


8. The Horrible Crowes

Members: Brian Falon (The Gaslight Anthem), Ian Perkins (The Gaslight Anthem)

About: Described by Fallon as “dark soul music,” The Horrible Crowes is a two piece project that formed in 2011. Fallon has also stated that he intends to keep The Horrible Crowes a smaller, personal side project while keeping his true focus on The Gaslight Anthem. The Horrible Crowes released their first full length album, Elsie, in 2011.


9. Wrongchilde

Members: Mat Devine (Kill Hannah)

About: Wrongchilde is the electronic rock solo project of Kill Hannah’s lead singer Mat Devine. The first album, Goldblooded, was released in 2014 and featured Gerard Way (My Chemical Romance), Morgan Kibby (White Sea), and Sierra Kusterbeck (VersaEmerge).


10. Heavens

Members: Matt Skiba (Alkaline Trio), Josiah Steinbrick (F-Minus)

About: Matt Skiba and former roommate Josiah Steinbrick came together in 2004 to create the dark indie pop-rock project called Heavens. The duo released one studio album in 2006 entitled Patent Pending before disbanding to work on other projects.



Leave a Comment