Home Blog Photos Reviews Interviews Team Submit

Album Reviews

Streetlight Manifesto - The Hands That Thieve

Released:April 30, 2013

1. The Three of Us
2. Ungrateful
3. The Littlest Things
4. The Hands That Thieve
5. With Any Sort of Certainty
6. If Only for Memories
7. They Broke Him Down
8. Toe to Toe
9. Oh Me, Oh My
10. Your Day Will Come

It has been 6 long years since the world has experienced brand new material from Streetlight Manifesto. I'm here to say, it was well worth the wait.

Streetlight could arguably be one of best ‘ska' bands in music. Their energy is rarely matched by any other band in the scene. The album kicks off right away with "The Three of Us," which immediately makes you forget how long it has been since you've heard them. Their sensationally catchy guitar riffs and powerful horns immerse you into the story of their lyrics. Streetlight has kept to their style by telling stories of life and family with tracks like "If Only For Memories" and "Your Day Will Come."

The title track of the album "The Hands That Thieve," features fast paced acoustic guitar laced with an incredibly catch chorus. This album contains a few tracks sporting an acoustic guitar strumming along with the rest of the horns to give a dose of nostalgia from their older albums. The slowest track on the album might be one of their best, "Toe to Toe." An acoustic beginning transitions to an all too irresistible chorus. Everything comes together in a very balanced manner.

The one downside to this album plagues all great albums, not enough tracks. I never wanted this album to end. Getting lost in the unique world of Steetlight's ‘The Hands That Thieve' is one hell of an experience. All 10 songs can be played front to back and repeated just moments later, this album is that good.

Leave a Comment