Home Blog Photos Reviews Interviews Team Submit

Album Reviews

The Dirty Heads - A Cabin by the Sea

Released:June 19, 2012

1. Arrival
2. Cabin by the Sea
3. Disguise
4. Spread Too Thin
5. Your Love (featuring Kymani Marley)
6. Mongo Push (featuring Rome Ramirez)
7. Dance All Night (featuring Matisyahu)
8. Hipster
9. Notice
10. Day by Day
11. Smoke Rings (featuring Del the Funky Homosapien)
12. Burn by Myself
13. We Will Rise
14. Best of Us
15. Love Letters
16. Farewell
17. On My Way (bonus track)

You hear the crash of the Pacific Ocean, feel the cool sea breeze in your hair, the sun gently warming your face, even hear the caw of the seagulls. Then you realize, you are on the subway in NYC, nowhere near SoCal, and it's raining above ground. Or, maybe that was just what happened to me when I was listening to The Dirty Heads most recent album "Cabin by the Sea." These guys are known for a mixture of "reggae and hip hop/ dance, alt, and punk-rock" as they put it in their first album "Any Port in a Storm," produced in 2008. Four years later, these guys have come a long way in their musical talent and ability to transport their listeners to paradise.

I would recommend that everyone at least take a look a listen to this album. It is a very chill and relaxing vibe. The sound leans heavily towards the reggae roots of the band with some enjoyable raps dropped on top. "Cabin by the Sea" features many fewer artists than "Any Port in a Storm," but Rome from Sublime makes an appearance again.

The track list is quite consistent; from the opening song "Arrival" to the ending song "Farewell" (I hope you also see what they did there). Many of the songs include at least a few seconds of a beach soundscape. "Spread Way Too Thin" foregoes the soundscape, though, in favor of a more up-beat sounds while commenting on the stressful nature of the music industry. "Mongo Push" has a bit more of a funk sound than the rest of the album, which is an enjoyable addition. "Smoke Rings," one of the more rap-based songs on the album features a sound clip from the 1969 movie, "Satan's Sadists." The instrumentals on "Love Letters" are very island-esque, though the vocals start a little shaky, which is rare for this band that usually has solid vocals.

Overall, a very pleasant album to listen to. It feels less like listening to an album and more like a vacation. Definitely buy this one and enjoy a quick vacation from your everyday life.

Leave a Comment